A short reel to conclude the memorable year

Thank you is all I have for you

This is just a newsletter to express gratitude to all of you. With your support, we thrived in 2022. That doesn’t mean everything worked out. It just suggests we went from setback to setback with enthusiasm. I am taking the liberty to paraphrase Coinbase founder Brian Armstrong’s definition of entrepreneurship but to me it captures the essence of our collective pursuit.

The reel below includes some highlights of the year gone by - Oxford, Harvard Business Review, books, stake acquisition, travel, familial love. The outcome shows but the journey is missing.

To understand the process, you may want to subscribe to Network Capital and refer your friends. I have built Network Capital in an unorthodox way. When funding was flowing, I chose to build it day by day, prioritizing impact and unit economics. Being profitable from day 1 enabled us to say no to the collective hysteria engulfing the edtech landscape in the middle of the pandemic.

We waited for the right time, raised close to nothing obsessing over learning and community experience instead of vanity metrics.

Sep 30, 2020: Quit my job at Microsoft

August 2021: Raised funding from Facebook and our patrons

September 2022: A blockchain unicorn valued $1.5 Billion acquired a stake in Network Capital

Again, this just shows the outcome. My mission is to help Network Capital community members have the greatest impact on the world through their careers. I share the process, contrarian decision making through our subscriber-only newsletters, cohort based courses and structured mentorship programs.

Gift your loved ones the Network Capital experience. If it helps them make even 1 good professional decision per year, the subscription will pay for itself many times over.

For me, Network Capital is a labor of love. Success or lack thereof, funding or lack thereof, boom or bust, I will show up along with my community members. That’s my super power. I show up in good times and bad. Join the Network Capital movement and see your career and your life transform - step by step, ferociously.

⚡️2022, what do I say⚡️

2022 comes to a close and what a year it has been. I am happy, grateful and energized.

One regret - grandma didn’t get to see all of it, but I know wherever she is, she is smiling. If there is something I can be proud of, it is that smile.

2022 taught be that we have much less time left with our loved ones than we think.

Prioritize

✅ Health

✅ Family, friends and community

✅ Meaning: Find your super power and apply to problems and projects that need you the most

Wish you a roaring 2023!

Best,

Utkarsh