Network Capital Summer School Orientation

Taking care of yourself by taking care of others

Hi everyone,

Hope you are taking care in these challenging times. I am looking forward to hosting you for Network Capital’s pre-summer school orientation focused on mental health and wellbeing.

As the CEO of one of the world’s largest career intelligence communities, I have spoken to thousands of ambitious millennials and Gen Z around the world who started the pandemic trying to outwork it (panic working) and are now languishing. 

Shocks and pandemics lead to massive destruction but they can also be powerful teachers if we reflect on our pain and ask what matters to us most and why. This is time to recalibrate our life and career aspirations.

Today my personal and professional life looks starkly different from what it did just 6 months back. If you are interested in learning more about my story, please read my Harvard Business Review article where I share my adventure of transforming my passion project into a full-time job in the middle of the pandemic.

It wasn’t an easy decision and I spent countless sleepless nights thinking and rethinking my choices. It could have taken a massive toll on my mental health but I sought help from my tribe of mentors, the Network Capital community, my friends and family members. Thanks to their help, I was able to take care of my wellbeing while dealing with tectonic changes in my life. It was a learning experience, one that I cherish and celebrate every single day.

When we meet on May 7, I will put forward a framework that you can use to take better decisions amidst myriad uncertainties and be empathetic towards yourself. Your inner chatter or the relationship you have with the voice within your head is the most important relationship. It can make or break you.

My mission is to make the Network Capital Summer School the most meaningful learning experience you have ever had. We will of course learn deep-reading, critical thinking, public speaking and writing but we will partake of all assignments and micro-experiments keeping self and community care in mind.

The joy of taking care of yourself by taking care of others is a special feeling. I hope you are as excited as I am about our time together. See you shortly.

Best,

Utkarsh