• Network Capital
  • Posts
  • Last day to register for the Community Building Fellowship: Build your own Network Capital

Last day to register for the Community Building Fellowship: Build your own Network Capital

Register for the Community Building Fellowship

I am Utkarsh, the founder of Network Capital. Building Network Capital helped me discover my purpose and propelled me in ways I could not have imagined. It led to

  1. Raising funding from Facebook

  2. Getting my first book deal. Thanks to your support, it became an Amazon #1 best-seller 

  3. Opportunity to write for Harvard Business Review 

Our NC community had a meaningful role to play in each of these. Now I want to teach you how to build your own Network Capital. The art and science of building communities is essential learning for every ambitious young professional.

I started Network Capital with a simple idea that every single person in the world has something to learn and something to teach. All we needed was a community with the right culture to enable skill sharing at scale. The first step of Network Capital stemmed from my inability to speak to every person who reached out to me for career advice. I had a busy full time job and the demand for my time was way more than I could manage.

So what did I do? I build a micro-network of mentors who were basically my friends with 3 key defining aspects

  • They were givers

  • They were doing interesting things in life

  • They knew how to give specific advice

In the Network Capital community building fellowship, I will teach you how to build your first micro-network. It is both art and science. If you get this step wrong, you can’t build a community.

What does the Fellowship include?

In the fellowship, you will be learning live with a cohort of other community builders. The kick-off session is set for Oct 9, 2021 and will be followed by other session on the weekends. As a fellow, you’ll have access to office hours and the entire Network Capital content library.

In the first cohort of the fellowship, we have posted people like -

This is what our fellows have to say -

Akshat: I am an MPP student and a Li Ka Shing Scholar at Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy, NUS.

Srujani: I’m an Environmental Engineer working as a sustainability professional in an International Organization.

Fellowship Experience 

Akshat: We are the community we build” is one of my preferred catchphrases. I have actually been part of multiple NC Fellowships - community building, writing, CEO and side hustle - each having 3 significant takeaways for me -

  1. Cohort Based learning.

  2. Incremental and actionable steps.

  3. Tangible Outcomes and takeaways.

My coffee fundraising workshops “Behind Barista’s Bar” were a direct outcome of the fellowship. A self taught brewer, I had pursued coffee as a passion, but never as a monetizable venture. The community I built through the fellowships helped me overcome the initial hesitations, and helped me launch and find an audience for the project.

Srujani: I’ve been part of the NC writing and side hustle fellowships. This was my first-hand experience at cohort-based learning, and I thoroughly enjoyed the course.

  1. Format - I liked the case study method, wherein Utkarsh gave a live example from his experience of writing for prestigious publications and building NC to convey fundamental concepts.

  2. Engagement - I particularly liked the interactive learning methodology; different fellows had different takes on topics. With the diversity in the background, it was interesting to learn about the multi-dimensional view.

  3. Fellows - The cohort was very smartly curated, and there were multiple learning opportunities,

  4. On the spot feedback - After each presentation, Utkarsh, Varya and fellows shared live feedback, this was practical learning for me.

  5. Guest lectures - the opportunity to listen and interact with notable people and learn from their experience

I started what I did out of a problem that I faced and something I realized many of my peers in the industry were facing as well. Developing a career in a non-conventional industry such as sports can come as a shock to many, more so because of the lack of information and uncertainty associated with the profession. Through hit and trial, testing of ideas, speaking to multiple stakeholders, I landed my dream job. However, a bigger idea was sparked in my head and that led to the formation of Mabrij - A community of sports business professionals, at different stages in their career, wanting to improve, develop and simply network in the sports industry.

Fellowship Experience 

The fellowship was a great experience overall. An underlying commitment as a community leader or entrepreneur is to keep improving the experience for the members. With this fellowship, I was able to pick-up nuances that can help with that. I'm excited to launch new initiatives moving forward and definitely have the NC team to thank for the instilled confidence and support.

💝 If you want to learn how to navigate the Network Capital ecosystem, please read this article.

💞 Read our founder Utkarsh Amitabh’s book Seductive Illusion of Hard Work. The foreword written by Klaus Schwab, the founder of World Economic Forum.