The Future of Work - Navigating layoffs & automation

Applications open for Crypto, Web3 & Future of Work Nanodegree (Powered by Mudrex)

In our first fellowship on Web3 & Crypto, we explored the foundations basics of blockchain technology and the underlying thesis of web3; in the second fellowship called Web3, Crypto & Society we went a step further to unpack the social implications of this technological revolution; now in the third edition of the Web3, Crypto & Future of Work fellowship, we will look at -

  1. The evolving nature of future of work, and how students and professional can navigate this complex changing environment.

  2. The broad trends and patterns of change.

  3. What do careers of the future look like.

Over the last week, over 50,000 people were laid-off across the tech industry. Propelled by economic sentiments, technological changes and ambiguity around future growth, companies made the hard choice of letting go of some of the best professional globally with less than a days’ notice.

This experience of large-scale lay-offs and strategy pivots in big-tech, prompted us to think about the future of work -

  1. Would people now seek more secure and stable jobs over professional satisfying and rewarding jobs?

  2. Which sector/industry will people who have been laid-off find work?

  3. What can people who still have their jobs do to prevent such a scenario from themselves in the future?

There is no easy way to say this. Some of our community members who taught fantastic masterclasses during our fellowships lost their jobs during mass tech layoffs.

Karthik is one of them.

“Bittersweet farewell: After 1.5 years at Meta, my chapter has come to an end. Alongwith 11k+ colleagues, unfortunately my entire team was impacted by the #metalayoffs.When I first joined Meta, I was curious to learn how product teams operate at multi-billion dollar scale: how product leaders drive accountability across a broad range of XFNs/orgs and execute w/ high agency to drive massive impact across a portfolio of products. Fortunately, I got exactly the learning experience I was looking for and feel privileged to have been on this rollercoaster ride with some of the most talented, hardworking and amazing people across Singapore, London and Menlo Park.Special thanks to Spencer Powell who took a bet on me as the first PM in an extremely ambiguous space, and Gaurav Dosi who helped sharpen my product leadership skillsets by providing me opportunities which pushed my boundaries. Thanks to all my amazing PM/PMM/Engg/PD/CD/DS/DE colleagues for trusting me with driving the product direction and providing me feedback to fast-track my learning experience, while having fun along the way.As I still process this news with gratitude, I am excited to explore the next chapter in my career and would appreciate any help I can get in finding the next awesome product leadership opportunity. Feel free to reach out via DMs or via email ([email protected]), and to reshare this post with your network. I am open to Singapore, EMEA/London, India and Canada as locations.”

Nakul is another.

2 years & 3 months later, my ride at #Meta across countries and teams comes to an end. It has truly been one hell of a ride working with some of the smartest folks I have met and got the chance to work on great initiatives including WhatsApp, Creators and the Metaverse.I am now looking to move into venture capital/ work with growth stage startups or even start something of my own. If you have something in mind, let's chat.#metalayoffs

We are confident they will bounce back stronger. In fact we have asked some of them to come back and share their lessons, reflections and strategies for next steps. Will they think about web 3 and crypto, will they take the first job they get, will they startup or look at venturing into the passion economy.

They will be sharing their perspectives during our upcoming fellowship on web3, crypto and the future of work. Enroll now in the fully funded nanodegree by Mudrex.

If you’re curious to think through the future of work, join us!