Announcements and reflections

What led to this day

My second book “Passion Economy and the Side Hustle Revolution” (Sage Publishing) can now be pre-ordered. World Economic Forum founder Professor Klaus Schwab has written the foreword for the book. I hope you consider pre-ordering it today.

In the last two years, I quit my full time job at Microsoft, moved countries, made my side hustle my full time gig and did a whole lot of adulting - buying a house, getting married, raising funding for Network Capital, among other things. It has been an adventurous journey with lots of ups and downs. This book attempts to capture specific lessons about transforming your passion into a viable profession.

Work’ is getting unbundled from ‘employment’ and the ‘The Great Resignation’ has become the new normal. As the passion economy becomes mainstreamed, people will look to build a portfolio of professions that create multiple income streams. They are likely to monetize their passions and build a career on their terms, seeking autonomy, mastery and purpose along the way. Today it is possible to do what you love, teach what you love and make a living. This book will tell you HOW.

I am blessed to have mentors who have written thoughtful blurbs. Take a look.

“In the Network Capital masterclasses and podcasts, Utkarsh asked me thought-provoking questions about the future of work and emerging trends in employment. I found his clarity of thinking remarkable and am glad that he wrote a book to unpack how the world of work will look like in the post-pandemic world. As the founder of a global mentorship platform, he is uniquely positioned to discuss what people want with their work lives and why.His book suggests that the ability to reinvent oneself will be the most critical skill in the times to come. Even though the majority of case studies are about millennials, Utkarsh effectively makes the point that we are entering an era of multi-generational leadership where people across age groups will need to collaborate and support each other in their reinvention.The last few years permanently changed our relationship with work. Things aren’t likely to go back to the way they were. Perhaps that is a good thing. This way we get to redefine the norms, reduce the biases and co-create a new normal for work that is equitable and impactful. By writing a book on the passion economy, Utkarsh has initiated an important conversation not only about work but also our guiding philosophy of the society of tomorrow.”

Shashi Tharoor ― Member of Parliament and Award-winning Author

Now let me tell you the best part.

Sahitya Akademi award winner Dr. Anamika (my mother) just announced the launch of her new poetry collection Band Raston Ka Safar. As luck would have it, our publishers (Sage and Rajkamal) sent the first copies our books home on the same day. Perhaps my late grandmother has something to do with this mystical happenstance. Losing her earlier this year was tough but when we witness such magic, we are reminder of her powerful presence. She would have been proud today.

P.S. This is my mom holding my book and hers, standing next to the bed where my grandmother used to read.

There is something about this picture that makes my life complete in all its incompleteness. I don’t know if I am successful or not but this picture makes all my adventures worth it.

Thanks to all of you. This book would not have been possible without your unconditional love, encouragement and support.

Best,

Utkarsh